Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
DeVille 1988
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a german student so please excuse my bad english. Thx!
Since a couple of days I´m a proud owner of 1988 Cadillac Deville.
Now I´ve some problems with electric.
What happens:
The preowner of this car make some changes on the Radio. So I want to make it reverse and right. At the radio harness I´ve found a wire with a Voltage about 16V DC. I don´t know how but I think I´ve short circurit this Wire with ground.
Now I´ve the problem that the Odo, Climate Control and the Fuel Computer don´t work. If I turn on the Ignition the displays of these items are dark. If I turn off the Ignition the display short flashes. The Twilight Sentinel works fine!

I have read a lot about IPC and CPS. In a Bulletin I found that these 16V DC are generated by the IPC / ODO.
There are also a Bulletin about checking the Voltages but I can´t find the descripted Pins on the IPC harness.

So my Question. What is broken the IPC or the CPS or something completly different. By the way I´ve checked all Fuses, there was no defect. Damned!

I hope you can help me!

Thx

·
Registered
1992 Sedan Deville, 1984 Lincoln Town Car
759 Posts
Hi, just read your post. I have 92 Deville but I think electronics is the mostly same. 16 Volts is common, wired in parallel not series, with FDC, ECC, RADIO, and IPC, but not the Twilight Sentinal. It controls the Vacuum Fluorescent (VM) display on all of the 4 units.

Your "short" is keeping the 16V from the display but if you can measure the 16V on the one wire you said, Radio, that fact is good. It means the CPS (Central Power Supply) as you call it (mine is BCM- Body Control Module, same thing) 16V regulator is still good not dead. Whew, lucky!