Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there and thank you in advance
I recently just picked up an engine and transmission out of a 73 DeVille it's a 472 with a turbo 400 and I would like to put it in my 1980 Fleetwood which currently has a 368 in it I would like to know everything I need to do to swap this engine in is it a direct fit is there any modifying I need to do etc. It's my first time taking on a task like this so any info would be much appreciated if there's any more info you need to know about the vehicles and engines please let me know

·
Registered
1980 FBC
3,139 Posts
Engine fits fine. Transmission does not. Original 1980 368 RWD uses a short tail TH-400.

I have detailed this swap multiple times on this site so try the search engine.

The info should really be a sticky but....

·
Registered
1980 FBC
3,139 Posts
Post the link for the most comprehensive swap thread, and I'll add it to the FAQ sticky!
Thanks Jay. I spent an hour so far looking and the first writeup appears to be pre-2010. Will that still exist on the site?

I could have written it again from scratch but would rather dig up 15 year old posts which may contain things I don't remember.

The other thing is I has a different account here back then. It was The Ape Man as opposed to what I'm posting under here.

It would be nice to merge these somehow but I hate to even mention that : (

·
Registered
95 FWB 81SDV 96 FWB 94 Fleetwood
1,533 Posts
All I can suggest is try to find a junk 77-79 full size RWD caddy and all the parts you will need are on it.

·
Registered
1980 FBC
3,139 Posts
I found two threads from when when George w. Bush was president.

They both involve the subject but aren't the best for a 1980. Still some good information:

Here's what you need from memory.

Bell housing is same so existing short tail TH400 will be fine. Replace the front pump seal
whenever it's accessible during a swap like this.