Cadillac Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Car is throwing a bad cat code is there anything I can do without replacing the cats thanks
Sure if you really want to...buy spark non foulers and put 2 on each REAR o2 sensor. Code will disappear.

THIS WORKS ON NEARLY EVERY VEHICLE.

I was an emissions inspector I know all types of ways to defeat the light. BUT you do need to get the cats replaced at some point. This won't solve your problem

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2009 CTS 3.6L DI rebuilt to FE3 J55 G80 3.42:1
2,244 Posts
Car is throwing a bad cat code is there anything I can do without replacing the cats thanks
It is possible, even likely, you have a marginal O2 sensor. It may well be the front one which affects mixture and driveability, vs. the rear "monitor" sensor. Can't say for sure without some diagnosis. Plot the front and rear sensor for the offending side, here is my experience with this issue. It's also possible you have a bad cat, but definitely look at the O2 sensors first. Cats typically last longer than O2 sensors.

If you have high mileage on the car, you should probably replace the front sensors at least just as regular maintenance. Improvements in fuel economy and driveability are the usual results.

Edit: if you have other engine problems causing misfires like ignition or bad timing chains, those can cause problems as well. The above advice assumes a good-running engine, perhaps not a valid assumption on a high-mileage car.

·
Super Moderator
2003 Deville Base
6,490 Posts
Sure if you really want to...buy spark non foulers and put 2 on each REAR o2 sensor. Code will disappear.

THIS WORKS ON NEARLY EVERY VEHICLE.

I was an emissions inspector I know all types of ways to defeat the light. BUT you do need to get the cats replaced at some point. This won't solve your problem
just to clarify, are you suggesting that the OP do something to skirt or somehow get around Federal emissions standards?

·