Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2003 seville sls
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Often i notice my rear end sits higher then the front end any one know why? Also what is a good way to tell if i need new shocks in the front is this why the rear sits up higher because the backs work right and the fronts maybe worn and no i have no trouble codes

·
Registered
2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP), 1972 Sedan Deville
26,323 Posts
:welcome:

'00+ cars have a slight forward rake. The struts have absolutely nothing to do with ride height.

OBD does not monitor mechanical wear, you will never get a code, light or message for worn struts. Only a test drive (or visible leaking) will tell you that.

·
Super Moderator
2010 DTS
87,549 Posts
I don't think it's an actual rake as much as an illusion due to the molding in the fenders and doors. I studied that many times when I had my '02 wondering if it was a rake or an illusion. Look at the height of the top of the deck lid and the height of the top of the hood and there appears to be a rake. Now look at the space between the tires and the wheel well. no rake, it's the same.

If when looking at the space between your tires and wheel wells the rear end IS higher, check your DTC's. You may find a code for an exhaust solenoid, meaning that the ELC system is raising the rear end when needed, but not being able to exhaust the air in the rear shocks, thus leaving it high.

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
71,031 Posts
Look at these 4 pictures and guess which is "rake" and which is "level". Pictures lie - my car, parked in a large level parking lot does have a slight forward rake - but most of the time it looks more pronounced, as Ranger observed.

Click on each thumbnail - sorry.

·
Registered
2003 seville sls
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5