1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
03 cadilac deville
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, I am new to this forum!

Heres a little info about me:

I'm new to Cadillac's, I am working on this car for a friend who has an 03 deville FWD engine code Y.i think it has about 102k on it.

A little history about me and this car so far:

About a month ago my buddy called me up to take a look at this shutoff issue it was having, you guessed it, CPS sensors were bad, replaced and good now.
Now there was a check engine light on for the TCC solenoid, replaced that using YouTube videos (1.5" workroom YIPPEE!)

I topped the trans level off to the correct level (with Dextron fluid), let it warm up and took it on a test drive.No codes yet but after having the car in "D" and shifts into 4TH, the car just revs at 50MPH!

Im kinda at a lost with out codes to go off of, the fluid is at the correct level with the right fluid, and I ran the transmission through all the gears at idle to "purge" any air.

My next guess at this would be doing a pan filter replacement, but i dont really think it will help.We do not know when it was replaced last though.

Is there a different purge procedure i do not know of? what am i missing? the car drives like a dream except at 50MPH!

I have used the search function with no hope, and i am mechanically inclined. I do not have access to a lift though.:crybaby:

Thanks for all your input!

·
Super Moderator
White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
86,783 Posts
Re: 03 cadilliac deville slips @50MPH after TCC replacement?!!!!

There is no pan filter on the 4T80E. Only a reusable screen.

Did you check the fluid idling at operating temperature? If you filled it with the engine off, it is way overfilled as the side cover will drain back into the pan and show empty.

·
Registered
03 cadilac deville
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3