Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am new to this forum, this topic may already have been beat to death, but I did a search and didn't find what I want. Can you pull codes on the CTS from the DIC like you can on the Corvette? And if so, is there some place here that explains how to do it and what the code definitions are? Thanks in advance.:cheers:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
RobertCTS said:
PODunk

Not sure what you're asking. Programming for the DIC or the ECM. Only the DIC information can be changed and all that info is in the manual.
Thanks..actually that is the answer I guess. On my C5, you can pull all the trouble codes by pressing the correct buttons in the DIC. It allows you to practically diagnose problems by yourself if you know what the codes mean. I didn't know if that was possible on the CTS, and apparently without the proper diagnostic tool, it isn't. Thanks for your help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,035 Posts
As I recall, pre-1995 cars have ODB-1 (first generation on board diagnostics), which would flash a dashlight in sequence after it was activated (by turning the key on a certain number of times). One had to count flashes between pauses to get the two digit trouble codes. I'm not sure if ODB-2 does that, but the ODB-2 port on all post 1995 cars is standard, so anyone can plug a code reader into it. I haven't had to read codes yet (knock on wood), but I did just buy a $300 PC based ODB-2 diagnostic tool to play with. There are cheaper ($50-$100) code readers available at any autoparts store.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
odysseus said:
As I recall, pre-1995 cars have ODB-1 (first generation on board diagnostics), which would flash a dashlight in sequence after it was activated (by turning the key on a certain number of times). One had to count flashes between pauses to get the two digit trouble codes. I'm not sure if ODB-2 does that, but the ODB-2 port on all post 1995 cars is standard, so anyone can plug a code reader into it. I haven't had to read codes yet (knock on wood), but I did just buy a $300 PC based ODB-2 diagnostic tool to play with. There are cheaper ($50-$100) code readers available at any autoparts store.
Yup...looks like that is what I would need to do. My car is still under factory warranty, and I do have an extended warranty that I bought thru my credit union. But I don't trust the stealerships based on past experience with two of them, and in the event that I get a code/check engine, I'd at least like to know what it is before I go to the dealer.

Thanks to all who answered me.:cheers:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,670 Posts
On the 03 non-nav radio, you can pull up codes by holding down the F1 and F6 button until all the interior lights turn on. When the screen clears, you will see the diagnostics menu. You can also clear codes if you wish.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,415 Posts
Mbai2 said:
On the 03 non-nav radio, you can pull up codes by holding down the F1 and F6 button until all the interior lights turn on. When the screen clears, you will see the diagnostics menu. You can also clear codes if you wish.
Dumb old me..what are the F1 and F6 buttons? I have those on my keyboard but where on my CTS?:hmm:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,035 Posts
Kinda makes me want to replace my nav with the old DIC based head unit simply to try it out. I've gotten to a 'diagnostic' screen on the nav before, but it simply told me software code builds, serial numbers, etc., . . . . no trouble codes . . . but then again, I didn't have any thrown at the time!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Mbai2 said:
On the 03 non-nav radio, you can pull up codes by holding down the F1 and F6 button until all the interior lights turn on. When the screen clears, you will see the diagnostics menu. You can also clear codes if you wish.
BINGO! Thanks!!!! Now all I need is code definitions! You guys are great!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,640 Posts
PODunk said:
BINGO! Thanks!!!! Now all I need is code definitions! You guys are great!
Ditto.

(If anyone's having problems, I got the screen to come up by holding the F1 and F6 while the car was running (in park) with the radio turned off)

:banana:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
thats so cool:cloud9: .....but:thehand: what the hell happens if u clear the codes? also i did it and my cts gave me 18 different codes:eek: .....what i do now?:confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Does anyone know if this works on the Bose system? I must have sat there for two minutes this morning with my fingers on the F1 and F6 buttons, engine running, radio off, and nothing happened. BTW, I've got a 2004 3.6 sport, if that matters.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,415 Posts
odysseus said:
ODB-2 is a standard, with standard error codes, that also allows for manufacturer specific codes. Here's one place that lists them, but not necessarily any Cadillac specific ones. They're also in the Helm shop manual, which is a must have if you're doing any kind of diagnostics. www.helminc.com

http://www.stancy.ehc.hu/obd2.htm
http://www.stancy.ehc.hu/obd2.htm Ody, Are these the codes that appear on our DIC panel?:hmm: Sure is a bunch of them!!:bonkers:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,035 Posts
I honestly don't know, since my car has never thrown a code! These are standard ODB-2 codes, which our cars use. I just fired up my new PC based scan tool last night. It was pretty boring, since there was really nothing to read. It has a real-time telemetry mode, though, which shows things like airflow, 02 sensor voltages, RPM, engine temps. It's all fun for about 3 minutes, then it's boring. I want to try out the 'virtual dyno' next, and see what it shows as RWHP and torque, before I get to the dyno.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,415 Posts
odysseus said:
I honestly don't know, since my car has never thrown a code! These are standard ODB-2 codes, which our cars use. I just fired up my new PC based scan tool last night. It was pretty boring, since there was really nothing to read. It has a real-time telemetry mode, though, which shows things like airflow, 02 sensor voltages, RPM, engine temps. It's all fun for about 3 minutes, then it's boring. I want to try out the 'virtual dyno' next, and see what it shows as RWHP and torque, before I get to the dyno.
So if you push the F1 & F6 buttons and nothing comes up..all is well?:confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,640 Posts
I checked my codes this morning and got the following 3 codes:

Under "MSM codes" - B1826C
Under "ONS codes" - U1500H and B2470H

According to the link on cadillacfaq.com:

B2470 - Daytime Running Lamps Fault
B2470 - Cellular Phone Antenna Circuit (2000+)
U1500 - Inter-Device Dedicated Bus Malfunction

B1826C is not listed. Does anyone know what this codes for?
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
About this Discussion
21 Replies
8 Participants
PODunk
Top