Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2001 seville sts 219K
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting a P0300 at idle and it's idling rough too. I replaced the plugs and boots/wires with AC delco and the code will not go away. A guy here at work has a scaner but I have never used one before. From my understanding this is the only way to tell which coil bank is bad correct?

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
71,004 Posts
Yes, some aftermarket scanners will enter an individual coil reading. Not sure how. Any other codes besides misfire in the DIC ?

You replaced all the plugs (#41-987 ?) and boots.......How did the coil cassettes look ? Clean and no carbon (spark) tracks ? What about the ICM connectors and the cassette ground spring - Tight ? Coil boots centered on each plug and pushed flush with the cam cover ? (I got sneaky with mine and stretched the internal springs a bit......).

www.rockauto.com still has a few OEM DELPHI coil cassettes with ICM for a decent price.

·
Registered
2001 seville sts 219K
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did the plugs first and put it back together. Then that didn't fix so I took it back apart for the boots. I got all the parts from rock auto. After doing some research could it be my injectors? P0300 is the only code I'm getting.

·
Administrator
71,004 Posts
Pull the beauty cover and check the PCV vacuum side - the plastic pipe from the rear cam cover to the intake manifold, and the other vacuum fittings at the throttlebody casting top. While you're in there, shoot a tad of choke cleaner at the base of the rubber connector - the plenum - between the throttlebody and intake manifold. Any idle quality change ? Reach down (engine off) behind/below the p/s pump area to the CMP (CaMshaft Position sensor) connector in the front lower part of the rear cam cover and give it a few wiggles and tugs. Re-check the coil ICM connectors.