Cue TouchScreen Freezing/Locking Up
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

+ Reply to Thread
**Cadillac User Experience (CUE)** Discussion, Cue TouchScreen Freezing/Locking Up in Item Specific Cadillac Discussion; ...
    johnsi is offline Cadillac Owners Member

Cue TouchScreen Freezing/Locking Up

We have a 2015 SRX with the CUE Navigation and Infotainment System. The display is frequently locking up where nothing on the touch screen works. Pressing the Home button on the panel works but still, nothing on the touch screen works. I've tried the so called "Hard Reset" that I've seen on several YouTube videos, but this appears to be a smoke and mirrors solution. I installed the "2019 Navigation System Map Update" and that seems to have made things worse.

I'm an electronics engineer with a software background and I find this issue extremely frustrating. I've read about touch screen replacement but what I'm seeing appears to be a software issue since the system works normally after the car is turned off for a while. However, the issue repeats itself after I start selecting various touch screen buttons such as zoom in/out, change to different media options, etc.. In frustration I did a Factory Reset and deleted the data we entered into the system to see if that would help. It helped some but the touch screen still hangs up on occasion.

Itís hard to believe that this issue has not had more coverage on this forum. Itís possible that something has caused the Operating System in our SRX to be corrupted. If so, there should be a way to reinstall it. When we purchase the SRX, I read the CUE system was slow. Thatís probably due to an underpowered processor and lack of memory. It also may be the heart of this issue weíre having.