Little disc brake help...
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Suspension, Brakes and Tires Discussion, Little disc brake help... in Item Specific Cadillac Discussion; Ok, this is my first attempt at any brake work, and it will probably show... Anyhoo, I've got a 1990 ...
    Tailfin is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 1996 Deville Concours

Little disc brake help...

Ok, this is my first attempt at any brake work, and it will probably show... Anyhoo, I've got a 1990 Fleetwood (4.5 FWD blah blah blah), it does not have the heavy duty brake package that was an option...and it does have abs and anti-lock, if that comes into play. Anyway, thanks to the indicator busting, I had no idea until recently that my left front wheel had eaten almost one entire side of a rotor, and the pad as well...so I got rotors and pads... No problem getting stuff off...I un-mounted the caliper and put the new pads on, and to my dismay, I discovered that with the caliper piston in its current position, there was nowhere near enough room between them to put it back over the destroyed rotor, let alone the new one. I'm just a little uneasy about forcing things, and am unsure how I should get that piston back where it belongs...so if someone could point me in the right direction, I'd be most grateful .

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Dadillac is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2015 Mazda3 S GT Hatchback 2013 Kia Optima SXL

Re: Little disc brake help...