Ebrake adjustment
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Suspension, Brakes and Tires Discussion, Ebrake adjustment in Item Specific Cadillac Discussion; Hi guys, newbie here!Can anyone tell me how to adjust the ebrake on the 80-85 seville calipers.I was told to ...
    Burbanman is offline Cadillac Owners Member

Ebrake adjustment

Hi guys, newbie here!Can anyone tell me how to adjust the ebrake on the 80-85 seville calipers.I was told to take the lever arm off and screw the 9/16 bolt in but when I do this fluid comes out and it is impossible to get the lever arm back on.What the heck am I missing, I can't feel it clicking to a new ratchet stop or anything.Do you just crank up superhard on the cable adjustment and reef on the brake pedal???

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Krashed989 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 94 Eldorado, and a 99 ETC

Re: Ebrake adjustment

Dude, I think the person who told you that may have thought you had drum brakes... You don't adjust them at the calipers, follow the cable to the middle of the rear crossover bar. You should see an adjustment screw there where the cable from the front connects into the rear cables. Just tighten or loosen it up to the desired position... Keep in mind that if you tighten it too much your e-brake will always be on.