Cadillac Owners Forum banner
5K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  elwesso 
#1 ·
I have S060 code in history on my 95 STS,..the ride is now very stiff and not comfortable as before. I have searched here and read all the posts in relation to passive struts. The code indicates left front position sensor fault. Does this mean my struts are in stiff mode? Does this mean they will stay that way or will I have to switch to the passive struts to get a decent ride back? If I do get the passives installed can I drive it home w/o the RSS setting changed to 0? Or is it a simple fix with the onboard dash computer? As you can see I have some knowledge from reading past posts but am still way unclear as to the next course of action. Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
When it starts throwing a code, it will put ALL struts into full stiff mode...... So what you're experiencing is completely normal.......

They will stay in full stiff mode until you get new struts...... I wonder what it would do if you turned off the RSS with the stock struts..... hmmmmm......

The thing with the computer is simple (via onboard dash computer), and shouldnt take more than a few minutes....... You can drive it, but ti will show that annoying message.....

#3 ·
Elwesso,..thanks for the response,..I cleared out the rss060 code in history and it has not put back the "service ride control" message since,..( its been about 8 days with no message now ). It does ride a little better since then,.not as stiff but still not the smooth caddy ride I had before. I am considering the passive strut kit from strutmasters and my buddy who owns a mieneke muffler here in town said he will install them for 30.00 per corner. Do you know how I can get into the RSS portion of the computer to turn off the active struts and get the value to 0? Thanks,.

#4 ·
Call me Snipes..... :D We normally have better response times, but I guess im the only one that hangs out in the suspension area...... :p