Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 92

Thread: My aftermarket radio install in the CTS

  1. #31
    JimmyH is offline Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    42
    Posts
    37,299

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    are you saying you want to put the DIC info on an aftermarket radio? I doubt that is possible.

    Or do you mean you want to keep the oem lcd display?

    Here is a guy who did something like that recently:

    http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...wners-who.html


  2. #32
    josney's Avatar
    josney is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2003 CTS
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    I think he is wanting to install the aftermarket and retain the DIC. And yes, there have been many threads on it, but never a clear answer that i have seen. I would love to see it described and illustrated better.

  3. #33
    txbest1980's Avatar
    txbest1980 is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2003 CTS "Ebony Maria" 2005 Cadillac STS "Grace"
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wherever Uncle Sam sends me
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,414

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    didnt mjs0202 do a complete write up on this?

  4. #34
    josney's Avatar
    josney is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2003 CTS
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    Quote Originally Posted by txbest1980 View Post
    didnt mjs0202 do a complete write up on this?
    You are correct. http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...-2006-cts.html

    I haven't read it through, maybe it's all in there. I had seen the link on mounting, but never where the wiring was plain and simple for an amateur like me. Thanks for the help txbest1980

  5. #35
    txbest1980's Avatar
    txbest1980 is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2003 CTS "Ebony Maria" 2005 Cadillac STS "Grace"
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wherever Uncle Sam sends me
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,414

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    i know mjs0202 has done this whole thing and saved the DIC, i dont know how is whole write up is though...he is on and off of here these days though

  6. #36
    josney's Avatar
    josney is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2003 CTS
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    I will take the time to read through the thread at home...big brother is watching.
    thanks again.

  7. #37
    LS6TT's Avatar
    LS6TT is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 2004 Cadillac CTS
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Age
    34
    Posts
    299

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    I searched through that second thread, here is a write up, hopefully this will be the final post. I think cadillacfaq.com should post the write up as well.

    http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...30-post76.html

  8. #38
    JimmyH is offline Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    42
    Posts
    37,299

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    one caveat:

    you have to be careful splicing into the brown ignition wire on the hvac harness: i have noticed some power adapters drawing power from there can get unreliable current, causing them to cycle on and off.

  9. #39
    LS6TT's Avatar
    LS6TT is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 2004 Cadillac CTS
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Age
    34
    Posts
    299

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyH View Post
    one caveat:

    you have to be careful splicing into the brown ignition wire on the hvac harness: i have noticed some power adapters drawing power from there can get unreliable current, causing them to cycle on and off.
    suggest another power source?

  10. #40
    Kingoftypos is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ledyard, CT
    Age
    38
    Posts
    9,281

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    You could always use the brown wire from the hvac to power a relay. While the relay allows voltage to go to the radio from a constant on source. Of course the radio will turn off when the relay turns off with the hvac.

    KOT

  11. #41
    mjs0202 is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): CTS
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    303

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    Just to update on my Pioneer install. Its been in over six months now and works perfectly. The original noise suppressor I bought died after a couple of weeks, nothing to do with the install just a faulty part. Replaced it with another $10 suppressor and no problems since then.

  12. #42
    JimmyH is offline Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    42
    Posts
    37,299

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    Quote Originally Posted by LS6TT View Post
    suggest another power source?
    I don't have one. The hvac ignition sense is the only one I am aware of that is easily accessible.

    I have my parrot speakerphone kit, as well as my GPS power tapped into that wire, and they work fine. But when I tried to charge my phone off that line it would cycle on and off. Same thing with my laptop. So I had to move them to the RAP from the cigar lighter. (which is fine, I just have to remember not leave them plugged in when the car is off for extended periods of time)

    My only point is that when you tap into that line, you might not get steady current. Some devices need steady current. Others don't.

  13. #43
    Kingoftypos is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ledyard, CT
    Age
    38
    Posts
    9,281

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    You know what, there are two other power sources.....

    The power outlets..... Remember fella's the fuses for these power outlets that are under the hood can be switched. From their factory default of always on, to on with ignition. Heck, that might even be just exactly like a RAP. Where the opening of the door turns it off. Best part, is that you could control the front from separate from the rear one.


    I know that ya'll would like "duh" just like I was a minute ago when I thought of those fuses.

    KOT

  14. #44
    LS6TT's Avatar
    LS6TT is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 2004 Cadillac CTS
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Age
    34
    Posts
    299

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyH View Post
    I don't have one. The hvac ignition sense is the only one I am aware of that is easily accessible.

    I have my parrot speakerphone kit, as well as my GPS power tapped into that wire, and they work fine. But when I tried to charge my phone off that line it would cycle on and off. Same thing with my laptop. So I had to move them to the RAP from the cigar lighter. (which is fine, I just have to remember not leave them plugged in when the car is off for extended periods of time)

    My only point is that when you tap into that line, you might not get steady current. Some devices need steady current. Others don't.
    it wouldnt be good to assume whatever radio one was to buy wouldnt need the steady current?

    so its best to seak an alternative power source?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingoftypos View Post
    You know what, there are two other power sources.....

    The power outlets..... Remember fella's the fuses for these power outlets that are under the hood can be switched. From their factory default of always on, to on with ignition. Heck, that might even be just exactly like a RAP. Where the opening of the door turns it off. Best part, is that you could control the front from separate from the rear one.


    I know that ya'll would like "duh" just like I was a minute ago when I thought of those fuses.

    KOT
    explain how I would change it.

  15. #45
    Kingoftypos is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ledyard, CT
    Age
    38
    Posts
    9,281

    Re: Retain DIC with Double Din wiring?

    Open the hood, remove the fuse box cover, look for the two fuses. Choose a fuse, or both remove it, move over to the left or right one peg. You'll see what I mean.

    KOT

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum