Cadillac Owners Forum banner
19K views 36 replies 18 participants last post by  pbmass 
#1 ·
I am purchasing this Cadillac within the next week. Its a 1968 with just under 42,000 miles. I've had it inspected and know what I'm getting into- there is some rust in the rockers that has been cosmetically covered up, but otherwise its a beautiful car.

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Full-size car

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Full-size car

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Full-size car Classic car

Please point me to this post if it already exists, but I'm looking for the list of 'everything I should know, the major things I should pay attention to right away, etc.'

My previous restoration experience is Range Rover where I replaced 5 body panels, fixed a rusty floor board, restored the interior, and did various off-road modifications. I also re-veneered all of the wood work. Apart from that I have rebuilt a GM smalblock. So I have some practical hands on experience, and overall think I'm ready for this, and also know where i'm going to enlist experts.

If you could please also recommend the best manuals (CD or paper): Haynes, Chilton GM/Cadillac shop manuals, etc and where to get any that are uncommon.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to tapping into the considerable experience on this board.

Pat Herman

See less See more
#3 ·
Well, you've already found the major rust issues on these cars, so no surprises there. 472 and THM400 are bullet-proof. The only hard part will be tracking down any missing trim, as no one reproduces it.

Looks like you'll have a real beauty when you're done. Congrats!

Craig

#7 ·
Creeker, its a Tennessee car. I guess that puts it in ambiguous territory for salt exposure. All, Are the rocker panels the same piece as the rear fenders? I'd like to be able to get patch panels from a parts car - Sven, do your 68's have good rocker panels or is that going to be impossible to find?

#9 ·