1981 DIEsel Eldo
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Other Cadillac Engines Discussion, 1981 DIEsel Eldo in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I know...I'm new here.....but I know how these forums work and they are a plethor of useful information. I need ...
    Cowasockeesteve is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1983 Eldorado Touring Coupe

1981 DIEsel Eldo

I know...I'm new here.....but I know how these forums work and they are a plethor of useful information. I need some of that info.
    I'm an auto/diesel mechanic by trade and have a customer with an 81 DIEsel Eldorado. I can't find any tech info on this thing ANYWHERE. The injection pump was just replaced and I have no spec on the pulse timing. All I can find is "align marks on pump up to time" I tried that and this thing won't get out of it's own way. Worse than usual. I've pleaded with said customer to let me drive this thing off a cliff and take pics but the old lady seems too attatched to it.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

cadillac_al is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Cadillac 78 Seville, 78 Coupe de Ville, 92 Sedan de Ville

Re: 1981 DIEsel Eldo

You might have to find a factory service manual for that. There aren't many of those Olds Diesels left; not many made it to the 90's. All of my family quit buying Oldsmobiles after getting burned on those diesels. How many miles are on that one? Maybe if it was never run for extended periods on the highway it never got hot enough to crack the heads.

Bean is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1982 Fleetwood brogham