xts
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Open Letters to Cadillac Corporate Discussion, xts in Item Specific Cadillac Discussion; can anyone explain why the v8 will stop production and be replaced with the v6 turbo? I am a v8 ...
    jaurig is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2007 sts

xts

can anyone explain why the v8 will stop production and be replaced with the v6 turbo? I am a v8 cadillac driver for a long time. I am torn with buying now or waiting for the xts. will the v6 turbo give me the same feeling of power?

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

70eldo is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 1970 Eldorado.

Re: xts

Assumibly the 3.6L DI TT will make 425 hp. A lot more than the Northstar V8.
    From experience from the 2.8L double scroll Turbo, I can say, that the turbo lag is almost gone, the torque is ample and the mpg should be the same as the non-turbo. If you look at BMW 3.0L DI and DI turbo they list the same mpg.

Since the XTS is a comfort cruiser I wouldn't worry about the feel. But that's my opinion.

70eldo is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 1970 Eldorado.

Re: xts

And the Northstar will stop production, because the efficiency is dated and it cannot be improved much more. Since modern V6's can deliver those dated V8 performance (the 3.6L DI makes 304hp opposed to the 320hp of the N*), the Northstar doesn't make no sense any longer.