Oil pan gasket leak!
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, Oil pan gasket leak! in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Hey guys, Northstar Noob here... I just purchased a 94 Deville and found that the oil pan is leaking at ...
    Caddywak is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac

Oil pan gasket leak!

Hey guys, Northstar Noob here... I just purchased a 94 Deville and found that the oil pan is leaking at the gasket. It looks like a b@tch to get to, as the exhaust goes right under it. Does anyone know the procedure to removing the engine oil pan? Does the tranny have to come out? Does the engine have to come out in order for the tranny to come out?
    How many hours work should it be??
    Thanks guys!

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)

Re: Oil pan gasket leak!

The '94 Deville does not have a Northstar. It has a 4.9. Not sure it can be removed without removing the engine. try removiing one bolt at a time (the ones you can get to). Spray them and the holes down with Brakleen. Then blow out the holes and apply some permatex thread sealer to the bolts and torque to specs. That has been reported to slow it down drasically.

Caddywak is offline Cadillac Owners Member

Hi! Thanks for the reply. My Caddy is a sedan deville concours, and it sure does have a northstar. Like I said, I'm a caddy newbie, so is there a deville and a sedan deville?