API grades
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, API grades in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; ...
    Jan Olsson is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): -02 STS

Question API grades

Hi everyone!

Iīm a newbie here so I thought Iīd say hello, proud member of Caddyinfo too I might add.

I got some questions about oil...donīt wanīt to start another debate here.
    My -93 STS requires 10W-30 oil API service grade SG, but since the current grade is SM I got a few questions.
    Am I right about grade SM being better or at least being equal to grade SG with respect to wear? If that is the case, is it also ok to fill my -88 Eldo with it? My Eldo requires grade SF.
    The reason Iīm asking is because Iīve seen posts about filling 4.9 L with 15W-40 oil with a higher degree of ZDP (ZDDP) eg "diesel oil" to get better protection against wear for the distributor gearing etc.
    Why is it necessary to do that if the grades are getting increasingly "better"?
    Isnīt the backward compatibility in SM reaching down to SF, SG or what?

Please excuse my bad english.

Janne

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

chevelle is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast

Re: API grades

Your english is fine. Better than my German or whatever.....LOL