STS Radiator Hose Replacement
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, STS Radiator Hose Replacement in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I have a '99 Cadillac STS with the NorthStar engine. Can anyone give me step-by-step instructions on how to replace ...
    SCSTS is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1999 Seville STS

Unhappy STS Radiator Hose Replacement

I have a '99 Cadillac STS with the NorthStar engine. Can anyone give me step-by-step instructions on how to replace the lower radiator hose?

I am only a backyard mechanic and not a very good. I could use the help.

THANKS

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

ejguillot is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 2000 Seville STS

Re: STS Radiator Hose Replacement

SCSTS,

Replacing the lower radiator hose is EASY. (Getting to it is somewhat more difficult.)

You will need a pair of pliers (channel locks would be best) to remove the hose clamps.

I'll write this with the assumption you have no experience whatsoever (not meant as an insult, just want to make sure you understand regardless of experience level)

1) Take off the plastic beauty cover covering the radiator
    2) (you can skip this step, but it will be messier) The radiator drain plug is on the bottom, driver's side. Get a clean bucket or clean large, deep pan to catch the coolant, then unscrew the plug and let the coolant drain out. (Use a clean pan or bucket so you can reuse the coolant, if it's new enough. If the coolant has been there for more than 2 years, I would dispose of it and refill with new.)