01 Deville issues, no codes, no check engine light
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, 01 Deville issues, no codes, no check engine light in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Ok Guys I'm new to this thread and I need help. I purchased an 01 Deville with 120K on it ...
    cbgibson is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2001 Deville

01 Deville issues, no codes, no check engine light

Ok Guys I'm new to this thread and I need help. I purchased an 01 Deville with 120K on it about a month ago. Recently and intermittently, I'm having trouble with it.

Occassionally, when I crank it up, it dies. I have to gently press the accelerator pedal when I crank it to keep it running. When it does do this and I am driving it, if I take my foot off the gas and the RPMs drop, it also cuts off. I have to keep my foot on the pedal to at least maintain 800 rpms to keep it from cutting off.

Also, once or twice, it's like the throttle is sticking...every time it does it, it sticks at 2250rpm. but that is also intermittent and only happens when the other issue is not happening. Also, when this is happening, and I put it in park after driving it, the vehicle is idling at about 1500rpm.

Like I said, the problems are intermittent, no check engine light is coming on, and no other problems are happening.

PLEASE HELP! I have a family of 5 (with one more on the way) and I don't want to end up stranded somewhere!

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)