OBD2 Scantool for Northstar Engine to monitor knock?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, OBD2 Scantool for Northstar Engine to monitor knock? in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; ...
    NorthStarGXP is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2005 Bonneville GXP, gutted airbox, 14.64 @ 95.54

OBD2 Scantool for Northstar Engine to monitor knock?

Hi all, newbie here. Iíve got a 2005 Pontiac Bonneville with the 275-horse NorthStar engine. Iíd like to know if anyone here is aware of any OBD-2 scanner is capable of monitoring spark retard due to knock for a Northstar PCM. If spark retard is not available, total advance might be an acceptable substitute. Iím open to any experience or feedback regarding the different scantools; I want to be able to datalog and measure performance as well.

Thanks!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Submariner409 is offline If it won't run, chrome it
    Automobile(s): 2002.5 F55 STS/65500mi, 2004 Ford F150 SuperCab4x4

Re: OBD2 Scantool for Northstar Engine to monitor knock?

Take a look at www.scangauge.com. You can monitor any 4 of 12 gauges at one time, and ignition advance, throttle position, coolant temp and intake air temp are 4 of them.......plus it's a code reader/scan tool. Plugs into the OBD-II port with a 6-foot cable.