Blown Engine
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, Blown Engine in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I am new to the Cadillac Owner's Forum and hopefully some one can help me out. I have an "01" ...
    ljsbjs is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac

Blown Engine

I am new to the Cadillac Owner's Forum and hopefully some one can help me out. I have an "01" SLS Seville with 110K miles on it. Service engine light had been on for a couple of days and I did not have a chance to take it in and get it checked out. When returning home one evening, the engine started missing very bad and eventually died. I got it started once but it had a terrrible noise. Towed to a Cadillac dealer and the next day I received a call from them saying it needed a carbon cleaning and plugs changed. I said ok, go ahead. But in the back of my mind I figured I would get another call. Well I did and I was asked if I was sitting. I knew the news was not good. They had removed 3 plugs and when they removed #4 - Cylinder 7 - the bottom of the plug was missing and it looked like the piston (or something) had hit it. Solution - NEW ENGINE!!! $7000.00!!! Am I hosed? Salvage or repair? The car is in excellent shape for 110K. Everything else works. Any suggestions? Are Northstar's noted for this problem? Recall from GM?

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)

Re: Blown Engine