93-99 Dis ????
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, 93-99 Dis ???? in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Im a noob here But After some info. There seems to be some knowlagable folks here. Im impressed. Any hoo ...
    zbuickman is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): northstar ignited Big Block

93-99 Dis ????

Im a noob here But After some info. There seems to be some knowlagable folks here. Im impressed. Any hoo I am modifing a DIS to run my Big Block. and have it running bench style. Now what Exact signal is the DIS looking for From the crank sensor. This information does not seem to be in the service manual. I know its looking at the pluses. but what part. The pulse in general? Does the voltage have to go up with RPM. Will a 12v pulse from a 00+ CKP or any 5 or 12 V pulse work? Does it have to be near 100V @3.2 KHz. I am asking because I would like to use some ABS sensors neaten up the install. If I knew the operational range of the DIS module It would make my search easier. I will only be using REF,BYPASS, EST, 4X, IGN, TACH, GND, CKP A, CKP B. Cam in and out wont be used untill I go to SFI. It is my understanding that I dont need cam in unless Im using the 24X signal. which would remain high with out the cam sync. Here are some pics of the install so far.
    Attached Images

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

eldorado1 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur

Re: 93-99 Dis ????

It is looking specifically for center crosses. So your input signal must be AC.

Voltage does not matter as long as it's AC, and above about 5v.