1997 Cadillac STS
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Northstar Engines and System Technical Discussion Discussion, 1997 Cadillac STS in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Hey, guys im new to the Cadillac Forum here. I'm about to buy a 1997 Cadillac Seville Sts. The thing ...
    97CadSTS is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1997 Cadillac STS

1997 Cadillac STS

Hey, guys im new to the Cadillac Forum here. I'm about to buy a 1997 Cadillac Seville Sts. The thing about the car is, that it has almost 200,000 milles, and the dealership said it may need head gaskets. I checked the car out, and it is completely mint body, interior, and runs well. I took it for a test drive, and it seemed to climb in temperature a little bit, but at idle it was fine. The car excelerated great, and shifted perfectly. Is there a chance it could be just a thermostat, and or a waterpump? I've heard Cadillacs with the Northstar have alot of problems with head gaskets, so who knows. They are asking $2000 for it, and other than possibly needing head gaskets, it seems to be a great car. My question is that, is it possible to do the head gaskets with the motor in the car, or does it have to be dropped? I've been reading the forums, and most people seem to drop the cradle. Also is it difficult to do the head gaskets?
    Thanks for your help
    -Chris

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)

Re: 1997 Cadillac STS