Stainless steel exhaust, 90 Deville
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
HT4100 4.1, 4.5, 4.9 Discussion, Stainless steel exhaust, 90 Deville in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I have a question for you guys, My owners manual (90 Deville) says that the exhaust pipes and muffler are ...
    daniel58 is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 58 Coupe Deville, 77 Coupe deville, 90 Deville

Stainless steel exhaust, 90 Deville

I have a question for you guys, My owners manual (90 Deville) says that the exhaust pipes and muffler are made of stainless steel. As a machinist I know the 1st test for stainless steel is to see if it is non magnetic. Well my exhaust is magnetic and it seems to have corroded to some degree. I guess I can not complain because it has lasted for 20 years, far longer than regular steel exhuast would last in central Ohio. I'm just wondering how Cadillac could get away with calling it stainless steel when seems that its not. I would also like suggestion as to the best replacement for my rusted out stainless steel exhaust system. Thanks in advance.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Re: Stainless steel exhaust, 90 Deville

Anyone have any comments?? I guess I'll go to Autozone and get the elcheapo pipe and a $30 turbo muffler from Jegs. It was a rhetorical question anyway I guess.

Sevillian273 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 69 Thunderbird | 90 Seville | 89 Marquis | 72 Torino