4.9 liter question
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
HT4100 4.1, 4.5, 4.9 Discussion, 4.9 liter question in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Can you tell me " Who" makes the 4.9 liter engine ? How many horse power it has in stock ...
    Dondo is offline Cadillac Owners Member

Question 4.9 liter question

Can you tell me " Who" makes the 4.9 liter engine ?

How many horse power it has in stock form ?

What improvements can be done to enhance performance ?

What is the average gas mileage of this engine ?

What Caddy's can they be found in ?

And last what are the strong points,,, AND,, weak points of this motor ?

I am still learning ,, I use to be with Chevy,, switched to Ford,,,Crown Vic's,, so I am use to a big car, but I want something that has performance and trust worthy ,,,but looking to come back to GM products !!

Thanks in advance guys

Dondo

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Andrew60SP is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '93 Sixty Special

Re: 4.9 liter question

I believe Cadillac makes the engine as it is only used by them, but I could be wrong.

Stock, its rated at 200HP@ 4100RPM and 275lb-ft @ 3000RPM.

Not much in terms of performance mods. I know of k&n air filter and a chip.

Mileage is rated at 16 city / 25MPG hiway.

They are found in 91-95 Devilles (Not the 94-95 Concours though),
    91-93 FWD Fleetwoods and 60 Specials, and 91-93 Sevilles and Eldorados (Not the 93 Touring models though).

Some strong points are its fairly good reliability and good low end power. There are some threads about the miles these motors have been able to rack up.