Throttle Position Sensor Misadjusted
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
HT4100 4.1, 4.5, 4.9 Discussion, Throttle Position Sensor Misadjusted in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Folks: I hava stubborn Code E055 (Throttle Position Sensor Misadjusted). I have checked to make sure no cables are binding ...
    EldoRedo is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 1991 ETC (Crimson)

Throttle Position Sensor Misadjusted

Folks:

I hava stubborn Code E055 (Throttle Position Sensor Misadjusted). I have checked to make sure no cables are binding the throttle lever, but I'm not experienced enough to perform more sophisticated diagnostics the service manual describes.

The car seems to run fine -- is this something serious enough to worry about? I ask because if so, I'm concerned my dealer will use it as the latest opportunity to overcharge me -- so the second part of the question is, is this something a smaller independent shop could typically be expected to remedy?

Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

awadecki is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 76 Eldo (54k), 76 Eldo (52k), 78 Eldo (9k), 85 Deville (43k)

Re: Throttle Position Sensor Misadjusted

Well, yes and no. This isn't a hard job to do yourself. My guess is that someone previously installed a new sensor and failed to calibrate it (typical of the smaller shops, although dealers should know what they're doing). Here's what you should check: