Cadillac Owners Forum banner

What are the major red flags when looking at used cars that make you walk/run away?

6K views 71 replies 38 participants last post by  CadillacLuke24 
#1 ·
For me, it is ostentatious, oversized rims and "little old lady" stories. I also get a kick out of "the car doesn't currently run - it just needs a $10 part from the salvage yard" line.

#24 ·
"Mechanic's Special"
^I actually look for that! everything is negotiable as long as the price is.

I try to stay away from "main body damage"AKA roof,quarter panel..stuff like that,that requires welding or body filler. a bent up door,or fender is fine.even a bent frame as long as it unbolts.I stay away from "repainted" vehicles too. I'll buy a wreck long before I buy a rebuilt wreck.

..and when a mechanic decides it's time to just get rid of the car, you probably don't want it.
^This,lol. I'm a mechanic,when I sell a vehicle it was either put together cheap as possible intended for resale,it's at the point the value is less then the repairs,or I pieced it together from scraps parts or seconds that came from another vehicle I'm keeping,haha.

True story:D

#7 ·
Re: What Are The Major Red Flags When Looking At Used Cars That Make You Walk/Run Awa

Aftermarket wheels. Excessive window tint. Evidence of tinkering with the air intake system. K&N anything. Evidence of tinkering with the OEM suspension. Aftermarket sound system. Hack jobs for muffler "upgrades". Oddball alarm and remote start systems, especially along with amateur install work. Rust in the lower fender and door seams. Over 100K miles. For a Northstar engine, earlier than year model 2000. An uncomfortable feeling that a transmission or clutch is not just right. Filthy oil on the engine dipstick. Overfilled transmission. ANY evidence of oil, gas or coolant snake oil use.

#22 ·
Re: What Are The Major Red Flags When Looking At Used Cars That Make You Walk/Run Awa