1969 - 472 ci Gasoline Required
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
The Classic Cadillac Forum Discussion, 1969 - 472 ci Gasoline Required in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Hi I am new to the form and am looking to buy a classic Cad . The one question that ...
    walex is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): none

1969 - 472 ci Gasoline Required

Hi I am new to the form and am looking to buy a classic Cad . The one question that comes to mind for me is , what type of gasoline was recommended for the 472 engine in 1969 ?Was it leaded or unleaded hi test gasoline ? : Thanks in advance .

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

77CDV is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 77 CDV, 06 DTS III, 69 FWB

Re: 1969 - 472 ci Gasoline Required

Unleaded wasn't introduced until 1971, and 1969 was still the high compression era, so the engine was designed to run on hi-test leaded. Today, you can use premium unleaded (min. 91 octane, 93 if you can get it) with a lead substitute. If the engine has been rebuilt with harded valve seats, you can skip the lead substitute.

SWEENDOG1969 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 90k 1969 Cadillac Hardtop Sedan Deville

I've been running my 69 on premium and the occasional lead additive (very occasional) and dont really notice a difference,if the valve seats get worn out i figured i would replace/upgrade the valve seats..and other things

disturbio is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 1969 DeVille convertible, 72 sdv - RIP

Ive never put the lead sub in and i run 89.... runs nice, stays cool