Thermostat Replacement with OEM?
Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Cadillac STS-V Series Forum Discussion, Thermostat Replacement with OEM? in Cadillac V-Series Forums; Those of you who had their thermostat replaced with a new OEM part, have you has the "ENGINE HOT - ...
  1. #1
    jerrylsantos is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2006 STS-V
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    84

    Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Those of you who had their thermostat replaced with a new OEM part, have you has the "ENGINE HOT - AC OFF" error ever return? If the actual design is faulty, should I just have a third party (Stant or similar) installed?

    I'm at about 47k and have been getting the notorious message, and i'm finally getting around to getting the thermostat replaced. Warranty is out, so I was going to find a shop to do it, and flush my coolant at the same time.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    PGA2B's Avatar
    PGA2B is online now Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Black Raven STS V
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    2,531

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Without a warranty you will save a bunch of money going to a local shop other than a dealer. Nothing special about the T-Stat. The Stock is a 180* and part number Mr. Gasket 6368.

    I replaced mine with a Mr. Gasket 6367 160* T-Stat. Please note I also have HP Tuner so I can tune for it.

  4. #3
    550HP STSV is offline Banned
    Automobile(s): Heavily Modified STS-V
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    1,734

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    What exactly are you tuning? Could users with the Spectre intake use a 160 safely, without a tune?

  5. #4
    jerrylsantos is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2006 STS-V
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    84

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Basically, i was wondering if a replacement OEM thermostat would fail again.

  6. #5
    PGA2B's Avatar
    PGA2B is online now Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Black Raven STS V
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    2,531

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Quote Originally Posted by 550HP STSV View Post
    What exactly are you tuning? Could users with the Spectre intake use a 160 safely, without a tune?
    Turning off P0128 (Coolant Low Temp Failure) so it won't set a CEL. You might get away with not turning off the code but you run the risk of getting it. But only with the 160*

  7. #6
    PGA2B's Avatar
    PGA2B is online now Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Black Raven STS V
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    2,531

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Quote Originally Posted by jerrylsantos View Post
    Basically, i was wondering if a replacement OEM thermostat would fail again.
    If it truly is the T-Stat then no it should not fail again.

  8. #7
    jerrylsantos is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2006 STS-V
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    84

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    So what was it about the Thermostat that came from the factory that made it faulty? Does it just reach end of life?

  9. #8
    PGA2B's Avatar
    PGA2B is online now Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Black Raven STS V
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    2,531

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    I took out my Factory and it was still fine. I just wanted the 160*.

  10. #9
    jerrylsantos is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2006 STS-V
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    84

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    ...I realize that, that is why I am trying to steer the thread back in topic.

  11. #10
    PGA2B's Avatar
    PGA2B is online now Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Black Raven STS V
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    2,531

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Sorry I was just trying to answer your question about having someone change it for you and what to use. You can do it yourself if you have a deep 10mm socket. Its just 2 bolts and you don't even have to take off any hoses.

    I think the factory has a tendency to freeze up and not open correctly.

  12. #11
    jerrylsantos is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2006 STS-V
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    84

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Thanks for the info. Searches turned up people getting it replaced under warranty, or people who installed a lower temp thermostat. I'm still unsure if I should get an oem part, or a Stanton (or other) "factory" replacement.

    While you brought it up; I was under the impression that at least some of the coolant had to be drained to get to the thermostat? If that's not the case I'll swap the part out now and do a flush a little later.

  13. #12
    PGA2B's Avatar
    PGA2B is online now Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): Black Raven STS V
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    2,531

    Re: Thermostat Replacement with OEM?

    Nope. You loose a small amount when you take it off so obviously do it when the car is cold. I would bet it is 2 cups or less. It was not even enough to trigger a low coolant warning. The system will purge by itself. I just opened the overflow tank a few times to let out the air after she ran for a while. Any local parts store should have a factory style replacement for under $25. I reused the factory rubber gasket as it has an additional ring around another tube. You will see what I mean when you get to looking at it. The hardest part was getting the factory T-Stat out of the housing. Mine was wedged in there pretty good.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum
Need products for your Cadillac? Check out your options at the links below:

custom floor mats | Cadillac Chrome and Black Chrome Wheels | window tinting