Sorry on the chrome rims thread about the pads, didn't mean to interfere with that thread.

I am not an expert with ceramic pads, but have had experience with three cars now with them.

EBC makes ceramic pads as well as hawk for our cars, and both come with a break in coating on the pads that lasts for about 50 to 100 miles. This coating is specific to wear the rotor smoother, and to heat temper the rotors, according to EBC. I have run them on both my Corvettes, and one Mustang GT.

Do they eat up the rotors faster. YES!!! I have noticed that I can go two to three pads with a rotor before the rotors become too thin. I have noticed on both my Vettes that the rotors needed replacement at the same time as the pads needed to be changed. I went 36000 miles with ceramics on my 03 vette, but that was with a lot of SCCA Solo events under my belt. My 05 Vette went 32000 miles with about 50% pad and rotor left at that point. Only Solod that car once, but a lot of aggressive mountain driving. You will notice on the lips of the rotors that the rotor does eat up faster. I have read that Cryogenic rotors seem to last a lot longer with ceramic pads, but no experience. I ran a slotted and crossdrilled Bear rotor set with my 05 Vette, and that one seemed to last a lot longer, so it may be possible that the crossdrilling and scrapping of the pads extends the rotor life.

I don't know, but on all three cars I noticed the same bite as the stock pads under normal driving but much more grip from speed, more consistancy, and no fade at all on both vettes! The small 11" rotors on the mustang took about twice as long to fade, but still did fade.