Cadillac Owners Forum banner

oil filter cap overtightened

26K views 25 replies 14 participants last post by  conedoctor 
#1 ·
hi , I was trying to change the motor oil and filter and I couldnt open the oil filter cap , my car is 2006 srx and the oil filter housing is aluminum and I am afraid to damage the part (oil filter cap), does anyone know how to loosen it, and what direction does it open, the cap has stamped on top "25 N" and an arrow showing clockwise direction

thanks for any pointers you can help me with

#2 ·
The oil filter housing is conventional right-hand thread, meaning ccw to loosen.
I believe the nut is 24mm but a 15/16 socket fits snugly. Don't use a cresant wrench.
The 25N is actually 25N-m and I believe is the recommended torque when reinstalling the filter housing. 25 newton-meters is approx 18 lb-ft torque.
I use a socket with an extension. To loosen often takes an initial shock by firmly hitting the handle

#3 ·
thanks for the help, Since its my first time changing the oil after dealer services, and having the cap overtightened at the dealerchip , I just to make sure I was unscrewing it in the right direction, being an aluminum part and all, anyways going to give it a try, thanks again

:)

#4 ·
I suspect you already drained the motor oil/changed the filter and your SRX must be refilled, short of having it flatbedded back to the dealer who seemingly overtorqued the filler cap somehow or misthreaded it during the last oil change. The likely culprit is the last person to add a quart or change the oil. The filler cap could have been overtorqued and'or misthreaded by the last person to put motor oil in there.

Can you determine who that is and let them resolve it? If you touch it the problem and potential stripped threads becomes yours. Risk versus opportunity or practicality. Your choice.

#6 ·
Sorry.....thought he said oil "filler" cap, not filter.