Cadillac Owners Forum banner
2K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  kippjones 
#1 ·
I am shopping for an SUV and have pretty much settled on the SRX, but I am disappointed that they do not offer the power rear door like some other new SUVs do. Does anyone know if this is something that can be done aftermarket as an upgrade?

Also, I'm not sure about the flip-up DVD screen. It's hard to tell from the pictures on the Cadillac website, but it seems like it might be difficult for a child in a car seat to have a very good view of the screen, with the child being elevated in the seat and the screen being a little low. Do any parents have an SRX with the factory DVD option, and if so do you find this to be a problem at all?

Thanks for any help.

#2 · (Edited)
I seriously doubt it would be possible for a third-party to make/install a power liftgate for the SRX. I'm not a mechanic, but I know my Town & Country requires not just a motorized lift, but a remote release for the latch. Not sure where you would get both of these parts to work in an SRX. We really miss our minivan, its power doors & liftgate, features and flexibility very much! If you have a family, once you've owned a minivan, you will never want to go to an SUV! BTW, what other mid-size SUV's offer a power liftgate--I didn't know there were any?