Refregerant Again?!?!?!
Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, Refregerant Again?!?!?! in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; i own a cadillac eldorado 1997 and I once submitted a thread needing help with adding freon to my car.. ...
  1. #1
    da17 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    56

    Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    i own a cadillac eldorado 1997 and I once submitted a thread needing help with adding freon to my car.. i added it and everything worked smoothly for a day, now when i turn my AC on no cold air comes out and when i check the pressure gauge it goes up to around 40psi then goes down again and continuosly does that? why is that?? what does it mean?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Ranger's Avatar
    Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ill.
    Age
    66
    Posts
    74,784

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    What are the low & high side readings? Do you have the low refrigerant message?

  4. #3
    da17 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    56
    Thread Starter

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    Ranger..
    let me elaborate a little more on the situation..
    the outside temperature is 50F and the lowest it goes in the car is 60F maybe thats why its not working.. i added more than enough Refregerant.. it reads around 60psi.. so do u think its normal because the outside temperature is cold so it cant make it any colder?

  5. #4
    Ranger's Avatar
    Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ill.
    Age
    66
    Posts
    74,784

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    That is a good question. I am not sure if the system can bring the temp below 60 as that is the lowest you can request. I do know you can put too much refrigerant in. I also know that those single low side guages that come with the refill cans or are purchased seperately (if that is what you were using) are useless.

  6. #5
    da17 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    56
    Thread Starter

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    What happens if i put too much refregerant in it?

  7. #6
    Ranger's Avatar
    Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ill.
    Age
    66
    Posts
    74,784

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    EXCESSIVE HEAD PRESSURE:
    This is mainly caused by overcharging the system which results in flooding the condenser. This in turn reduces the effective condensing area and results in high side pressures that can place excessive loads on the compressor. Other causes can be faulty condenser fans and debris lodged in condenser fins. These will result in reduced airflows which will cause condensing pressures to rise beyond acceptable thresholds.

  8. #7
    zonie77 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 94 ETC,97 STS
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,531

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    Do you have a gauge set or just the low side gauge?

    A low side gauge is not enough to work on your AC. If you want to work on it get a gauge set. Then you can tell us if you added enough refrigerant. It sounds like it is still low. Use the low side gauge only AT YOUR OWN RISK.

  9. #8
    iametarq's Avatar
    iametarq is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): None
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Petoskey, MI
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,289

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    i have seen adaptors to use the lowside guage set on the high side, since the high side "plug" is bigger than the lowside "plug" but I have not used any of them before.

  10. #9
    Ranger's Avatar
    Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ill.
    Age
    66
    Posts
    74,784

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by iametarq
    i have seen adaptors to use the lowside guage set on the high side, since the high side "plug" is bigger than the lowside "plug" but I have not used any of them before.
    Wouldn't that be kind of like plugging a 110v motor into a 220v outlet? In any case, I think you need to watch both guages at the same time. Like Zonie77 said, if your gonna do your own A/C work, you really need a good set of guages.

  11. #10
    da17 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    56
    Thread Starter

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    i dont understand.. isnt it just plug and go.. i mean all i need to do is connect the low side to the freon and fill till the gauge reads full.. whats more to it than that??? why need more gauges and whatever?

  12. #11
    Ranger's Avatar
    Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ill.
    Age
    66
    Posts
    74,784

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    No, it is not like filling coolant. There is a relationship between the low side and high side pressures.
    http://www.autoacrepairs.com/gauge_r..._diagnosis.htm

  13. #12
    zonie77 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 94 ETC,97 STS
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,531

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by da17
    i dont understand.. isnt it just plug and go.. i mean all i need to do is connect the low side to the freon and fill till the gauge reads full.. whats more to it than that??? why need more gauges and whatever?
    NO, it is not plug and go. If it was your AC would be working now. Ranger sent you a good link. AC is not real hard but you have to know what you are doing.

  14. #13
    Ranger's Avatar
    Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Woodstock Ill.
    Age
    66
    Posts
    74,784

    Re: Refregerant Again?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by da17
    i dont understand.. isnt it just plug and go.. i mean all i need to do is connect the low side to the freon and fill till the gauge reads full.. whats more to it than that??? why need more gauges and whatever?
    Here is a better example.
    http://autoacrepairs.com/temperature.htm

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum
Need products for your Cadillac? Check out your options at the links below:

custom floor mats | Cadillac Chrome and Black Chrome Wheels | window tinting