2002 SLS not starting after radio install ***update***
Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, 2002 SLS not starting after radio install ***update*** in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Just had a double din installed and now car won't start. I can hear the relay but no crank what ...
  1. #1
    daddyruiz820 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2002 Cadillac Seville SLS
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Age
    33
    Posts
    47

    2002 SLS Aftermarket double din installed

    Just had a double din installed and now car won't start. I can hear the relay but no crank what so ever. Any ideas?Guy says it's the factory security but I'm not sure. Never had a problem like that. Need help asap

  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    basscatt's Avatar
    basscatt is online now Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 89 Coupe DeVille, 95 Sedan DeVille, 03 SLS, two 02 DHS's
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    63
    Posts
    9,316

    Re: 2002 SLS Aftermarket double din installed

    Quote Originally Posted by daddyruiz820 View Post
    Just had a double din installed and now car won't start. I can hear the relay but no crank what so ever. Any ideas?Guy says it's the factory security but I'm not sure. Never had a problem like that. Need help asap
    ---------------------
    Cadillacs do NOT like their electronics messed with - by amatures -
    the security system goes throughtout the entire car - and through MOST modules -
    do a simple radio install WRONG - without the special adapters/modules -
    and you WILL be PLAGUED with electronic problems - FOREVER -

  4. #3
    daddyruiz820 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2002 Cadillac Seville SLS
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Age
    33
    Posts
    47
    I'm hoping not. They installed one on another car and it worked fine. Looking for a solution here.

  5. #4
    basscatt's Avatar
    basscatt is online now Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 89 Coupe DeVille, 95 Sedan DeVille, 03 SLS, two 02 DHS's
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    63
    Posts
    9,316

    Re: 2002 SLS Aftermarket double din installed

    Quote Originally Posted by daddyruiz820 View Post
    I'm hoping not. They installed one on another car and it worked fine. Looking for a solution here.
    --------------------------
    They installed one on another car and it worked fine
    but - was the other car a Cadillac?

  6. #5
    MoistCabbage's Avatar
    MoistCabbage is online now Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): Crimson 2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Boston MA.
    Age
    26
    Posts
    20,385
    It's almost definitely not the factory anti theft system (PassKey III) Look on your receipt. Do you see the words "integration module" or "GMOS-06 anywhere?

  7. #6
    daddyruiz820 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2002 Cadillac Seville SLS
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Age
    33
    Posts
    47
    Yes other car was exactly same year and model.

    ----------

    @moistcabbage no I don't see that anywhere. What exactly is that so I know what I'm talking about when I talk to these guys.

  8. #7
    MoistCabbage's Avatar
    MoistCabbage is online now Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): Crimson 2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Boston MA.
    Age
    26
    Posts
    20,385
    Your original HU was part of the anti theft system and data serial bus. The module allows everything to continue to "talk to one another" even though the HU is no longer there. Without it (or with a bad install/wrong module/faulty module), you'll have all kinds of electrical issues.

  9. #8
    cadi509's Avatar
    cadi509 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2006 STS V Tango int
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, Wa
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,087
    But did the other car have Bose or non Bose that is the key

  10. #9
    daddyruiz820 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2002 Cadillac Seville SLS
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Age
    33
    Posts
    47
    Not really sure. It was actually STS.

    ----------

    @moistcabbage so I should have them install GMOS? That will make it ok?

  11. #10
    MoistCabbage's Avatar
    MoistCabbage is online now Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): Crimson 2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Boston MA.
    Age
    26
    Posts
    20,385
    An integration module is required weather the car has Bose or not.

    You need to find out what they installed. You NEED an integration module. The GMOS-06 is the Metra unit, PAC makes one as well.

  12. #11
    daddyruiz820 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2002 Cadillac Seville SLS
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Age
    33
    Posts
    47
    Sounds good. Will look into it in the morning and post back. Thanks to all.

  13. #12
    vincentm's Avatar
    vincentm is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 1997 Cadillac Eldorado ETC
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kennewick WA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,669
    Is it
    STS = Bose

    SLS = Base

    ??

  14. #13
    vincentm's Avatar
    vincentm is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 1997 Cadillac Eldorado ETC
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kennewick WA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,669
    If they didnt offer or advise having a module be installed, id say might've spliced into the wiring at the rim to bypass the amps.

  15. #14
    MoistCabbage's Avatar
    MoistCabbage is online now Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): Crimson 2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Boston MA.
    Age
    26
    Posts
    20,385
    No, many SLSs have the Bose system.

  16. #15
    vincentm's Avatar
    vincentm is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 1997 Cadillac Eldorado ETC
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kennewick WA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,669
    Quote Originally Posted by MoistCabbage View Post
    No, many SLSs have the Bose system.
    Ah ok. So the OP might want to pull the top trunk liner to get access to the RIM and inspect the wiring. The C2 connector has the data lines.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum
Need products for your Cadillac? Check out your options at the links below:

custom floor mats | Cadillac Chrome and Black Chrome Wheels | window tinting