Front strut sensor bypass. - Page 2
Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 20 of 20
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, Front strut sensor bypass. in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; I installed the resistor on the harness side where it plugs into the strut. Both front struts have a wire ...
  1. #16
    Pete315 is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 95 Eldorado
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    305

    Re: Front strut sensor bypass.

    I installed the resistor on the harness side where it plugs into the strut. Both front struts have a wire connection ( 2 wire plug). Yes, I have height sensors in the front and back. I don't have F45.

  2. #17
    N*Caddy's Avatar
    N*Caddy is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 1997 Cadillac STS (BOSE w/AUX In, Massage Seats, URPAS, "Z")
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,405

    Re: Front strut sensor bypass.

    Then you DO HAVE F45, wires to the struts, 4 height sensors, RSS module = F45.
    But because is a '95 the controls are different (almost sure). Most likely the resistor will not work (at least not with that value).

    Again do not cut wires, is all I am saying.

  3. #18
    danapdutcher is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2003 STS
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    2

    Re: Front strut sensor bypass.

    I'm going through this now with a 03 STS. I purchased the Monroe sensatracts and it included a sheet of paper that stated to soldier a 4.7 ohm resistor across-ed the "2 wire" plug that goes to the stock struts. The paper says to use Radio Shack part #217-11249, which is a 4.7 ohm resistor. My system is a (2 wire) and what is called "electric suspension" and not the magna suspension. Simply call the dealership in your area and they will run your Vin # and tell you which you have on your ride.

  4. #19
    Submariner409's Avatar
    Submariner409 is offline If it won't run, chrome it
    Automobile(s): 2002.5 F55 STS/65500mi, 2004 Ford F150 SuperCab4x4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    MD Eastern Shore - Kent Island
    Age
    74
    Posts
    45,025

    Re: Front strut sensor bypass.

    A 2003 STS - every 2003 STS - has F55 Magnetic Ride Control. In order to change to a passive SLS system the proper resistor is, I believe, about 2 Ohms and it takes a decent power type due to the current involved. I believe that JimD did some research on the values and power ratings necessary.

    F55 in the STS began on 01/15/02 and carried through, without option, to the end of the STS run in 07/2003. Look on your trunk RPO sticker - under the spare tire cover. F55/FE3. This series of STS was the test mule for the Lord/DELPHI magnetorheological suspension system later used in Corvette and Ferrari, then in many upscale Cadillac vehicles.

    Too bad you're not repairing the system properly - it's a great handling car with F55 operational.

  5. #20
    basscatt's Avatar
    basscatt is offline Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): 89 Coupe DeVille, 95 Sedan DeVille, 03 SLS, two 02 DHS's
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    63
    Posts
    10,102

    Re: Front strut sensor bypass.

    Quote Originally Posted by danapdutcher View Post
    I'm going through this now with a 03 STS. I purchased the Monroe sensatracts and it included a sheet of paper that stated to soldier a 4.7 ohm resistor across-ed the "2 wire" plug that goes to the stock struts. The paper says to use Radio Shack part #217-11249, which is a 4.7 ohm resistor. My system is a (2 wire) and what is called "electric suspension" and not the magna suspension. Simply call the dealership in your area and they will run your Vin # and tell you which you have on your ride.
    ====================================
    like Sub already said - you DO have the F55 magnaRide suspension system -

    there is a simple resistor bypass trick - similar to the F45 suspension -

    read this thread -
    F55 to PASSIVE
    http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...e-control.html

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum
Need products for your Cadillac? Check out your options at the links below:

custom floor mats | Cadillac Chrome and Black Chrome Wheels | window tinting