83 Seville hood/trunk strut replacement?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, 83 Seville hood/trunk strut replacement? in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; I tried searching the forum on a how-to with regards to this, but I couldn't find anything. If there is ...
    andrewgorny is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1983 Seville (standard)

83 Seville hood/trunk strut replacement?

I tried searching the forum on a how-to with regards to this, but I couldn't find anything. If there is a related thread that someone maybe posted in, maybe they can forward me there...

I'm very new to cars in general let alone working on them. But I bought some new strongarms to put into the trunk and hood since neither stays up anymore (not surprisingly).

If you already know how to do this, let me know, but if not, read on and this is what I see:

In the trunk, there's a bolt that comes off easily, but the other end seems to have a tab on it that I should pry off with a screwdriver (says the strongarm instructions on the package) but I can't seem to remove it with a screwdriver.

In the hood, there's some kind of weird screw that looks like it needs a T-shaped head to unscrew. Plus, it's in between the fender and its mount. Do I need some kind of angled screwdriver to unscrew these screws? The other one I think is a hex screw so I have that one covered.

All of the screws have kind of a large tip on the end to keep them from slipping off. I was wondering if I should try to pop that thing off for a quicker replacement?

Thanks
    -Andrew

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com