Several 2002 STS issues--just bought w/ only 24K miles
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, Several 2002 STS issues--just bought w/ only 24K miles in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Hi guys, I'm a total Caddy newbie and appreciate all of the help and info available here at the Forum. ...
    TripleForte is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2002 STS

Several 2002 STS issues--just bought w/ only 24K miles

Hi guys, I'm a total Caddy newbie and appreciate all of the help and info available here at the Forum. I saw a teal-colored STS in 1995 and have wanted one for 17 years! Just bought a beautiful silver 2002 STS w/ only 24k miles from a fire captain's mother-in-law out here in Palos Verdes, CA, which seemed like a safe bet. I've spent hours researching the site (thanks AJ, Submariner, JimD and the rest of you), but am hoping for some confirmation and direction with some issues that have popped up since the purchase.

1. The only issue at the time was the "Service Stability Sytem" warning on the dash. He had just put in a new battery and said the warning had only shown up AFTER he had put in the new battery. The warning only comes on once every time the car is started (never while driving) and I clear it with the INFO DOWN button. I don't know if there is some "relearn" required, but I'm getting current DTC's of C1284 and C1285 (Lateral Accelerometer Sensor Bias and Circuit Malfunctions). I have noticed that the brakes seem to rattle the whole car when doing a hard brake at high speed, so maybe I have a more serious ABS issue.