Coolant Leak - Cracked block? 99 STS, already studded
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 2 Post By Ranger
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, Coolant Leak - Cracked block? 99 STS, already studded in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; I've been ignoring a coolant leak for the last several months. It's getting worse so with my day off today ...
    ewb4arch is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1999 STS

Coolant Leak - Cracked block? 99 STS, already studded

I've been ignoring a coolant leak for the last several months. It's getting worse so with my day off today I decided to have a look. I "rented" the pressure tester from Vatozone. Pumping it up results in drips coming from around the oil filter/pan. I jacked it up first on the drivers side then passenger to see if that changed anything. Still dripping down the oil pan with either side up.

Shining a flash light around under there, I found what appears to be hairline cracks in the engine block just below the exhaust manifold. I've attached some photos. Lager version can be found here:

http://s938.photobucket.com/albums/ad224/ewb4arch/

Are they cracks? Does that area of the engine have water channels?

Is there ANYTHING else above the oil pan toward the front of the car that could be the problem? I did replace the water pump & gaskets a few weeks ago so I know that's not it.

Looks like I may be car shopping,
    Attached Images

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Submariner409 is offline If it won't run, chrome it
    Automobile(s): 2002.5 F55 STS/65500mi, 2004 Ford F150 SuperCab4x4