Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Does anyone know how to change DIC language?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    6

    Question Does anyone know how to change DIC language?

    My frend in Japan has a 99 Seville and his DIC shows Japanese.
    However, he want to change English. Regarding to the Owner's Manual, DIC can show five language, English, German, French, Spanish and Japanese. So, does anyone know how to do that?
    Please advice.

    Thank you!!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Maximln is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 08 STS V8 AWD, 1SG, Platinum Edition
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    678
    It has to be done at the dealer with a Tech II.

    Max

  4. #3
    Logandiagnostic's Avatar
    Logandiagnostic is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2001 DTS, 2005 Mustang GT, 2010 MINI S
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    1,118

    Tech2

    Pretty sure you need a Tech2. I did see some others post some cluster options on this same subject on other Cadillac web imformation sites. Those procedures are correct for older cars up thru '95.

    The newer cars pretty much require a Tech2 to do anything like program remotes etc. There is also a new system called CAN used on the new Saturn ION. Requires yet another module on top of a Tech2.

    Logan

  5. #4
    Logandiagnostic's Avatar
    Logandiagnostic is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2001 DTS, 2005 Mustang GT, 2010 MINI S
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    1,118

    Tech2

    I cannot seem to post a photo from my hard drive......so I will use this web server. Photo is a current version Tech2. This one is ours. You can buy one for $2800.

    http://images.andale.com/f2/115/106/...7530_tech2.jpg

    Logan

  6. #5
    elwesso's Avatar
    elwesso is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2005 CTS-V, 1994 Infiniti Q45
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    7,661
    THAT LITTLE BOOGER FOR 2800!!!!! . Will most dealers do stuff with a techII for free?

  7. #6
    Logandiagnostic's Avatar
    Logandiagnostic is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2001 DTS, 2005 Mustang GT, 2010 MINI S
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    1,118

    Yeap.......

    Actually they are a bit more. Here is a link that will provide more info on what the Tech2 can and does....

    http://www.vetronix.com/diagnostics/tech2/

    Logan

  8. #7
    elwesso's Avatar
    elwesso is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2005 CTS-V, 1994 Infiniti Q45
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    7,661
    Ok, lets say i wanted some stuff reprogrammed, how long would it take for a caddy dealer to program stuff in with one of these puppies?

  9. #8
    Logandiagnostic's Avatar
    Logandiagnostic is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2001 DTS, 2005 Mustang GT, 2010 MINI S
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    1,118

    Tech2

    To change the country....maybe 10 minutes. Program remotes...again maybe 10 minutes. Using a Tech2 and a Techline terminal maybe 45 minutes to program a PCM.

    If you do diagnostic work on GMs you have to have one of these. It allows access to of course powertrain codes but also other system codes. A good example is door module codes for a Corvette. Other scan tools cant do that. Also some codes are available only by using the 'factory' scan tool.

    The real cool stuff is the bi-directional control. This allows you to turn things on and off. A good example is you can command the fuel injectors off one by one. This rapidly determines a misfiring cylinder. You can also control EGR valves, cooling fans, fuel pumps etc.

    Other examples would be running ABS pump motors and cycle trans solenoids.

    Logan

  10. #9
    elwesso's Avatar
    elwesso is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2005 CTS-V, 1994 Infiniti Q45
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    7,661
    Do you know if you can rent one? I think it would be fun to play around with it, just to see what it can do!!!! (and without having to pay the dealer)

  11. #10
    Logandiagnostic's Avatar
    Logandiagnostic is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2001 DTS, 2005 Mustang GT, 2010 MINI S
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    1,118

    Nope.....

    No one I am aware of rents Tech2s. Simply too expensive to rent out.

    Logan

  12. #11
    elwesso's Avatar
    elwesso is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2005 CTS-V, 1994 Infiniti Q45
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    7,661
    Ok, thanks. How much would imagine that a dealer would charge to do stuff with a techII


Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum