Changing a starter on a 98 SLS
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, Changing a starter on a 98 SLS in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Everyone~ I've just been informed by my mechanic that they will charge me for four hours of labor to change ...
    paddyshap is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 98 SLS

Changing a starter on a 98 SLS

Everyone~

I've just been informed by my mechanic that they will charge me for four hours of labor to change the starter on my 98 SLS. Being a poor grad student, I don't know if I can afford $400 for labor. I was hoping someone has done this before and could talk me through it.

Is it even feasible without putting the car up in the air? Do I need special tools beyond a good ratchet set? Y'all been very helpful in the past, and I'm praying that my good luck on the forum continues.

Thanks so much,
    Patrick

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

JimD is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): '98 STS (RIP @ 206,xxx miles)

Re: Changing a starter on a 98 SLS

What diagnostic steps brought you to the "replace starter" solution?

There are several electrical conditions that have to be satisfied before the starter motor will spin up.

And you don't want to be under the car for a starter replacement. The starter motor for your engine is under the intake manifold.

A mechanic ran down all the connections, ran the codes and came to that conclusion.

I've heard it's more difficult to get to the starter through the intake manifold than it is from underneath. Is that true?