Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Changing a starter on a 98 SLS

10K views 28 replies 12 participants last post by  stoveguyy 
#1 ·
Everyone~

I've just been informed by my mechanic that they will charge me for four hours of labor to change the starter on my 98 SLS. Being a poor grad student, I don't know if I can afford $400 for labor. I was hoping someone has done this before and could talk me through it.

Is it even feasible without putting the car up in the air? Do I need special tools beyond a good ratchet set? Y'all been very helpful in the past, and I'm praying that my good luck on the forum continues.

Thanks so much,
Patrick

#2 ·
What diagnostic steps brought you to the "replace starter" solution?

There are several electrical conditions that have to be satisfied before the starter motor will spin up.

And you don't want to be under the car for a starter replacement. The starter motor for your engine is under the intake manifold.

#4 ·
A mechanic ran down all the connections, ran the codes and came to that conclusion.
Details would be more helpful; which codes and which connections?

I've heard it's more difficult to get to the starter through the intake manifold than it is from underneath. Is that true?
Not true.

It is impossible to access the starter on your engine from "underneath" the vehicle.

At the risk of repeating myself, your starter motor is located under the intake manifold.

Whoever is feeding you this information is not experienced with Northstar powertrains and that would put the entire diagnosis in question.

#7 ·
Is it always a no crank issue? I had what I thought was a bad starter problem, but realized after a little more diagnosis that I had lost my Engine Ground. The braided groundstrap on the right side front of the engine had torn, and I actually installed an old battery cable from the frame to a bolt on the cylinder head.

Hope this helps....

#10 ·