Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1999 STS driver-side mirror loose

8K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  eldorado_97 
#1 ·
I may have posted this request in the wrong forum here, so I thought I'd post it here. Please understand this is my first time posting and I'm not quite sure of the terrain. My question is as follows:

Hi all! This is my first post here. I belong to a number of other car forums, but never felt the need to join just one more - until now. I got off work today and found my driver-side mirror loose, as if someone tried to pry it off. Can anyone explain how to reattach it? I'm assuming that I'll have to remove the inner door panel(s)/trim to get to the back side of it, but I'm clueless as to how without tearing something up. Hopefully, I'll be able to get my hands on a repair manual and figure it out myself, but I'd really appreciate it if someone who has had experience removing and reinstalling these mirrors could help me out as it may be awhile before the manual comes. The mirror isn't falling off, but it is loose enough to notice.

#2 ·
You are correct in that you'll have to remove the panel. My daughter had a '99, but I can't remember if I ever had to remove that panel or not so I don't know the idiosyncrasies of it. Each one has a little different quirk.

Be sure to get a FSM by Helm Inc., not Chiltons or Haynes.

#3 ·
Man, lots of these loose mirrors lately! I was able to tighten mine back up by only removing the little 'tweeter' speaker that is on the door moulding adjacent to the mirror. From that hole, you can get a box end wrench in there and tighten the bolts, there are two. the lower one was very hard but the upper one was easy. I did mine about 4 years ago now and it's been holding fast ever since. The nuts were in the 10mm - 12mm range, I believe. And the little tweeter popped of with a plastic picnic knife so I would not scratch anything.

G
#12 ·
Appreciate the tip. You were on the money..