Seville CV Axle Replacement - w/Pics
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Cadillac Seville / Cadillac Eldorado Forum Discussion, Seville CV Axle Replacement - w/Pics in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; 1990 Seville 4.5 - My drivers side CV joint went bad at 64K miles so I had to replace it ...
    Sevillian273 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 69 Thunderbird | 90 Seville | 89 Marquis | 72 Torino

Post Seville CV Axle Replacement - w/Pics

1990 Seville 4.5 - My drivers side CV joint went bad at 64K miles so I had to replace it this weekend. This is my first time with a FWD vehicle and first CV joint, so I hesitate to call this a 'walkthrough' since I probably didnt do it exactly to 'professional' standards. This is more of DIY first-timers account of my experience. It wasnt fun, but next time it will be easier.

If youve got experience and you see something here that you dont like, feel free to chime in!! I'd appreciate it!!

Please refer to the manuals!! Haynes/FSM.. Cautions, warnings, tips/tricks, and advice will not be included here!!

Tools:

Degreaser, Brake Cleaner, Liquid Wrench, Bearing Grease, Brake Grease

6" Puller, ChannelLocks, 1/2" Ratchet, 3/8 Ratchet, 18mm Open-End, Flathead Screwdriver, 13mm socket, 18mm socket, 36mm socket, 1/2'' extension, Cotter Pins

1" x 3ft EMT(breaker bar), Ball joint separator, prybar, mini-sledge, tire iron, 1/2" Torque Wrench, Claw hammer

Now onto the 'fun'

Loosen the hub nut and lugs before lifting the wheel (liquid wrench)

Remove caliper and hang it from the coils spring (13mm socket)