: I need someone to push me over the edge!

Benjamin Simon
02-04-07, 11:24 PM
Alright, I am finally ready to purchase the STS of my dreams. I think I found a great deal on a 2005 STS V8 1SG AWD with the ACC. It is also my color of choice which is White Diamond. The car only has 17,xxx on the clock and it is certified pre owned meaning the factory warranty is extended to 6 years, 100,000 miles. I can get it for $32,000 plus tax.
I checked the Black Book at my dealership and it is $30K on the STS. The Cadillac Certification cost $1,000. I am guessing the dealer fees are about $400. I am fine with them making at least $600 in profit. (Given they don't have less than the Black Book)
My payment looks like it will be $610 a month for 60 months.
My questions are, is this a good find and should I do it given my situation?

I feel it is a good deal, but sometimes when I get too excited, my judgment gets cloudy.

This is my situation.

I just turned 24 years old and I graduated from college 1 year ago. I gross $5100 a month. I have no children and I am getting married in June. I paid off my loans this year and have no debt to speak of. I am thinking about buying a house this fall when my lease runs up. I maxed out my Roth IRA and I put 10% on my gross in a IRA.

My mom has been bitching to me saying I am too young and I need buy a base model Impala or something. Easy for her to say, she drives a Caddy. For those that have been there and done that, is it a bad idea to buy such a nice car at this point. When I am 50, am I going to look back on my life and think, that was a dumb purchase or will I think that was the best idea ever!

I am just looking for a little reassurance or sense...

Benjamin Simon
02-04-07, 11:29 PM