: Dead battery or fob and locked out. Solution?

LaTyrece
01-22-07, 07:36 PM
My 2006 STS V8 is locked and dead. The fob won't work (I only have one). If the battery is dead, how do I get inside to open the hood to jump the battery?

The owners manual doesn't state how to open a locked car with a dead battery. To add insult to injury, I am 4 floors below ground level in a parking garage so OnStar unlock is out of the question.

Cajonkev
01-22-07, 07:55 PM
Where's your key (He asks semi-rhetorically)...

Call On-star with your wallet card and they will send a Cadillac Service tech to you with a replacement battery.

Caroutisine
01-22-07, 09:20 PM
Where's your key (He asks semi-rhetorically)...

Call On-star with your wallet card and they will send a Cadillac Service tech to you with a replacement battery.
Yes. The key will still unlock the driver's door. I've had to do this with a dead battery before.

bhoppes
01-22-07, 09:21 PM
I tow for a living and in my manual it says to contact your Cadillac dealer. We have had a call on one of these cars before and all we could say was to call your local Cadillac dealer, because there is really no way to get in the car.

ascariSTS
01-23-07, 04:49 AM
you can unlock it using the key (glove box key, in case) ...

ewill3rd
01-23-07, 05:43 AM
The driver's door should open with the key. Where is your key?
You can call roadside, they should be able to help you but you will have to have the key.
Oh, and if the battery is dead OnStar can't unlock it anyway.

AllWheelEric
01-23-07, 09:50 PM
I only got one old-fashioned key with my car (bought used) and never though I was at much of a risk. But now I wonder.

Does anyone know if this is a cheap key to reproduce or is it one of those dealer-only $60 keys?

Thanks.

ewill3rd
01-24-07, 05:56 AM