: 07 Oil Change Intervals

sj1400
01-22-07, 01:33 PM
Interesting thread on the C6 Corvette forum. The claim is most people change there oil too soon.

Are you all changing the oil according to the DIC % or using your own interval of 3k or 5k, etc ?
I realize the Vette has 100% synthetic while the Caddy dealers are using regular dino oil. For the 2 oil changes I had done the dealer sticker has 3000 miles on the windshield.

hcvone
01-22-07, 02:19 PM
I have for the past 25 years used synthetic oils in all my cars/trucks, I change the oil at 5k miles, the first chage at 1k miles. I know the synthetic oils I use can go 25k miles, but I change my own oil, so it only costs me the oil and filter. I have owned 11 Corvette's, I changed that oil every 5k or one year, so I was changing the oil many times with 1k or 2k miles on it, yes a waste for sure.

MRANT212
01-23-07, 08:54 AM
I have never done this before but I actually waited till the oil change light came on at 7000 miles. truck is going in for service this Tuesday. I will do my usual every3k from now on...Thought about synthetic but decided against it

Anthony

Falkolade
01-23-07, 12:47 PM
i have never changed the oil until the light comes on in any of my cars... hcvone is like my dad... however i have never had a problem doing this!!! so whatever makes you sleep at night!

hcvone
01-23-07, 01:13 PM
i have never changed the oil until the light comes on in any of my cars... hcvone is like my dad... however i have never had a problem doing this!!! so whatever makes you sleep at night!

Ok son. :crying2: :crying2:

Falkolade
01-23-07, 06:43 PM
Ok son. :crying2: :crying2:

HAHA... I re-read my post, and i think i posted it incorrectly. All i meant was that your view on car maintence coincide with my dads. In the line of oil changes, zanio wax etc.

hcvone
01-24-07, 08:20 AM