: About to buy 81 Deville, Need help from forum user Adrian12

flux1414
12-21-06, 05:55 PM
Hello, first post for me

I about to pick up a cherry looking 1981 Deville and greatly look forward to making it 'mine'. I'm an electrical engineer so not only will this caddy satisfy my nostalgia for a previous big white boat (..RIP sperm-cicle...) but I see it as a huge blank slate for a variety of electronic devices.

The custom carputer market these days is pretty complete with every bell and whistle you could imagine, almost all of which I should be able to integrate in this beast. The one thing Ive had a h*ll of a time finding is the interface definition to the ALDL diagnostics port of the 81 Deville. The fact that this car even has an OBD like interface is ridiculously amazing and I would be remiss not to utilize it.

This is where forum user Adrian12 comes in. From the looks of some threads Ive dug up, it appears you have a definition file for TunerPro. Unfortunately I am unable to PM you but would LLoooovvvveee to have the neccesary definition file.

The thought of finishing off my touchscreen computer/gps/mp3/navigation/kitchensink system with diagnostic information and perhaps even 'live' data makes me tingle.

Can you or anyone else with the holy grail of 81 Deville software help?

Many thanks in advance!!!

Drew

davesdeville
12-21-06, 08:02 PM
I can tell you're more electronics guy than car guy, otherwise you'd probably use a modern FI controller... but good luck with that one.

flux1414
12-21-06, 08:14 PM
You're absolutely right, I'm definitely an electronics guy since I never had much of a chance to figure out cars. After spending sometime on the forum I see I am going to have to learn a bit more about cars in general and certainly this beast.

A modern engine computer would be great but it's going to take me some time and some googling to figure that one out. Thanks for the idea though!