: Adding trunk cd changer to 99 Eldo

Rag64top
12-09-06, 04:06 PM
I am new to Caddy's and I would like to add a cd changer to my
99 Eldo. It has the stock cassette player right now, (the cheap one)
Is this car already wired for the trunk changer?
Is the stock radio capable of controlling the trunk changer?
I'm not interested in a FM type changer due to the poor sound quality.
I would like to buy a stock changer on Ebay, and hopefully just plug it in and play!
I have searched the forum for the answers, but don't really find them.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Peace
Rags

Rag64top
12-09-06, 06:01 PM
I have looked in the trunk, and found a small flat 2 section plug, that is about 1.5"X1/4" It has 8 plugs, and 12 plug, only about 7 of them are wired.
I also found a larger harness, that had a large receptacle type plug.
It looked like it was for extra relays possibly for some options that I don't have?
I checked out the dash unit, and it doesn't say Bose on it anywhere, so I assume that its just the base stereo that came with the car. If I push the source button, it just goes back and forth between the radio, and the casette, is this bad news for me, as long as this dash unit goes?
I really don't want to change the dash unit, and pay the dealer to unlock the new one, unless I can find one with a cd that has my woodgrain template with it. This looks like factory woodgrain that is on my dash, and doors. Every Cadillac cd dash unit that I see on Ebay, comes only with the plastic front plate, that looks pretty cheap.
If I was luck enough to find one that matches mine, that would fix the problem, and wouldn't have to add the trunk unit.
I wonder about trying to find out who makes the dash inserts, and see if I could get a replacement for mine, except with the cd player cutouts.

Anyone doing this same deal?

Thanks
Rags

CadillacSTS42005
12-09-06, 09:47 PM
theres no cd dash player you can swap into your car all of them require an external amp aka BOSE