: Think of my Dad

ewill3rd
12-04-06, 07:55 AM
I think my family is approaching a hard time.
My Dad is historically bad about taking care of his health and it's finally caught up to him.
He's got congestive heart failure, fairly advanced Diabetes, a poorly healed foot that got broken a few years ago, he's badly overweight and recently his kidneys have started shutting down.
He's been blacking out and dropping into what I innacurately refer to as diabetic comas (I am not a doctor so I am sure that may not be what they are called). He won't maintain his blood sugar and my mom has had to call the paramedics several times this year to revive him and then he spends some time in the hospital to get his blood sugar stabilized but he does it all again.

Anyway, he's not doing too well and he refuses to go to the hospital.
I come from a family where we don't express emotion very much so we don't get all toucy feely about it and I am not freaking out because I have seen this coming for a long time.
I just wanted to share because despite all the arguments we have, I love my Dad and it breaks my heart to know he's suffering, even if he's doing it to himself.

I appreciate any prayers from those of you who have faith and the kind thoughts from those of you that don't.

My Dad gave the 20 best years of his life to this country serving in the USAF as an enlisted man. He has seemed lost since he left the military but it would have been too hard for him to stay in.
My mom is having a hard time dealing with all the extra work of taking care of him and especially having to call the paramedics, watch the father of her children suffer and live in fear that he could die at any time.
My sister used to fight with him more than I ever did but she's got 2 boys now and she has gotten much closer to him so it's really bugging her.
Plus she is a nurse so she knows what is happening to him and she won't even tell my mom some of it.