: 160 degree thermostat

svassh
11-27-06, 07:56 PM
If you have it let me know your thoughts. Down in the south my car gets pretty warm. I gotta believe it would benefit from a little cooling.

50 4Ever
11-27-06, 08:49 PM
I have a 160 degree thermostat in my Corvette and I have a Predator and have lowered the temperatures that the fans come on. I don't think that you will benefit unless you have a tune that reprogramed the fan temps or a handheld tuner like a Predator.

:thumbsup:

DILLIGAF
11-27-06, 08:50 PM
You will have to get a tune when you change the thermo.LS6=the cooler the better!

heavymetals
11-27-06, 09:09 PM
Did it to mine (what haven't I done) and it seems to help.

C66 Racing
11-27-06, 10:19 PM
A 160 thermostat really won't lower normal coolant temps. I don't know the specific setpoints for the CTS-V, so the below discussion uses Corvette C5 numbers, but you should be able to get my point.

When the car starts and the coolant is cold, the thermostat will remain closed so the fluid doesn't circulate to the radiator so it heats up faster. The thermostat will open at about 194 or so allowing fluid to flow to the radiator. Once your car is warmed up, the thermostat thus sets the low temp because if really cold air flows through the radiator cooling the coolant below 194, the thermostat will go towards shut, reducing flow to the radiator and the coolant will remain at about 194.

On the high end, the temp is controlled by the fans. Though the fan setpoints appear to have varied slightly over the years, they are about: low speed on at 226, off at 219; hi speed on at 235, off at 226. So in stop a go traffic, it is not abnormal to see temps in these ranges.

Other things to consider are that when the AC condensor is on, the fans will run, thus if it is hot enough out for the AC to run and the fans are on, but the load on the engine is low or airflow through the radiator is high, the temp will go down to the 194 range where the thermostat will go closed again.